Gummy Candy

What's hiding in your halloween Candy?

Make sure your treats don’t trick you this Halloween–have an animal-friendly holiday by sticking to candy made without animal products.


Halloween is a holiday full of sweet treats and fun tricks, but make sure that your candy bowl isn’t masking a cruel surprise. Many of the ingredients in candy become unrecognizable when transformed into sweet concoctions, and a lot of people might not realize they are eating foods that are derived from animals. 

For those of us who follow a plant-based, animal-free diet, it can sometimes be tricky to know exactly what you are eating. But fear not, there are many easy to find vegan and vegetarian candies, and we’ve got you covered for a animal-friendly Halloween!

Sheep enjoying Halloween treats at TIERART, Germany.

Common Animal Ingredients in Candy


Gelatin–which is made by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and bones of animals, usually pigs or cows–can be found in many chewy candies, such as gummy bears, marshmallows, candy corn, and Star Bursts.

Luckily, there are plant-based alternatives to gelatin, most commonly agar agar (a type of seaweed), and many “accidentally” chewy vegan candies are readily available in stores.


Most people realize that milk and dairy products are derived from animals, but they may not think about how these ingredients are used in candy. Products that are made with milk chocolate–such as KitKats, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Almond Joy, m&m’s, Tootsie Rolls, Butterfingers and more–are vegetarian, but they are not vegan. So, depending on your dietary choices, you may choose to pass on many of the commercially popular candy bars.

While milk chocolate obviously contains milk, some dark chocolate products contain dairy as well, including a lot of common high-profile brands. However, there are also plenty of dark chocolate products that are dairy-free, and we’ve included some delicious options below! 


Eggs are one of those sneaky animal products that are used in many baked goods and can be found in some candy too, particularly those containing nougat, such as Snickers, Milky Way, and 3 Musketeers. Luckily, there are also plant-based versions of many of your favorite nougat candy bars.

Raccoons enjoying Halloween treats at TIERART, Germany.

Try these plant-based, animal-free candies this Halloween!

Animal-free chewy treats

Dandies Vegan Marshmallows

Swedish Fish


Red Vines


Sour Patch Kids


Hubba Bubba Chewing Gum

Big League Chew

Air Heads

Mamba Fruit Chews

Fruit Roll-Ups

Fruit by the Foot

Now and Later

Laffy Taffy



Annie’s Bunny Fruit Snacks

More animal-free fruity, sour, and hot candies

Sweet Tarts


Pixy Stix

Wonka Fun Dip

Bottle Caps

Jolly Rancher Hard Candy

Blow Pop Lollipops

Dum Dum Lollipops




Ring Pops

Animal-free Chocolate

Hu Kitchen Dark Chocolate Bars

Taza Chocolate

Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter or Almond Butter Cups

Alter Eco Vegan Chocolate Bars

Endangered Species Dark Chocolate Bars

Trader Joe’s Oat Chocolate Bar

Enjoy Life Chocolate

Dr. Bronner’s Magic All-In-One Bars

Gatsby Oat Milk Chocolate Bars

Hershey's Oat Made Classic Dark Chocolate

Animal-free nougat candy bars

Unreal Dark Chocolate Bars

No Whey Foods Caramel Nougat Chocolate Candy Bar

Gigantic! Hazelnut Café

Nelly’s Organics Caramel Nougat

Go Max Go Candy Bars

More animal-free sweet treats

Oreo Minis (the big Oreos are vegan too)

Annie’s Organic Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites

Cracker Jacks

If you find that you have been tricked by a non-vegan treat in the past, don’t beat yourself up. Everyone’s path to a more sustainable, plant-based diet is different, and learning is part of the journey.

So have a happy Halloween, and be sure to have some animal-free options in your candy bowl to keep all the neighborhood ghosts satisfied!

Halloween Jackolanterns
mother and baby cow

animal welfare and nutrition

Learn about the 3 R principle to reduce, refine, and replace animal products

Share now!